This is 5 diary entries as a rich lady in Ancient Rome. It is for a school project. All 5 are in order so take a look!!!! 

May 17, 55 B.C.

My Diary

I woke up this morning to see my slave ready with a plate of bread, olives, and fruit. I took a bite of the bread and the minute I tasted it, I spat it out. “What type of bread is this?” I shrieked at my slave.”What are you trying to do? Poison me?!?” I was outraged, I started scolding him. After that I got ready because today was the day that my new slave arrived. I recently bought the slave at a slave auction. She arrived in a ship from Greece. The minute she arrived I started talking,”Oh how, nice to meet you. I am your owner and you cannot do anything without my permission. Now Leo, the other slave will teach you the rules.” A few minutes after I got ready for a dinner party with my lovely friend, Chara. It took hours and hours to put on all the makeup and do my hair.  Luckily, I had the new slave help me out. She is very useful. I ordered her to go to the hairdresser and get a haircut. When she came back, she had a new wig which was made from her hair. Ahh!! How lovely it looked. I admired myself before I left. It looked so much better on me than her. Now I am back from that party and my stomach is aching. Oww!!! I ate so much!!! Maybe I should have thought before I stuffed myself. Oh well, see you tomorrow.

Signed,

        Helena

May 18, 55 B.C.

My Diary

I got up extra early today like usual. I just got out of bed, slipped on my tunic and drank a big glassful of water all in one breath. After, I went to the theatre with my friend Valeria to watch the play Rudens by Plautus. I loved the girls who played Ampelisca and Palaestra. It was very good and I enjoyed it. We went to the first ever stone theatre that held 27, 000 people. It was amazing. I found it very interesting. We got to sit in the front row since we were rich. The poorer you are the farther back you sit. We had to bring cushions since the seats were made out of stone. It was softer after that. When the show was done, Valeria started whistling and clapping. As she was doing that I saw a mob of people chasing after the actress who played Palaestra asking for her autograph. When we got home, we had an afternoon snack. I ordered Leo, my most trusted and worthy slave to go and get us some cake sweetened with honey. It was delicious. Soon, Valeria had to leave. When she left, I just started to write my entry. Now I’m done. Good night and sweet dreams, don’t let the bed bugs bite.

Signed,

        Helena

May 19, 55 B.C.

My Diary

Today was a fun day full of entertainment. I and Chara went to the ludi for fun. The ludi stands for public games.  It started off
with theatrical performances (ludi scaenici) in the wooden theatres. It was good. We watched the play Octavia. Emperor Nero was okay, but he wasn’t the best actor. Soon after it was the chariot races (ludi circenses), the most spectacular sport these days. It happened at a race course. There were four different teams, each a different colour, red, green, blue and white. The race lasted seven laps and was counted by removing objects like dolphins/large eggs from racks on the spina. The blue team won. After that, there was the gladiator fights in the amphitheatres. One of the gladiators fighting was Chara’s former slaves. At one point someone got hurt and they begged for mercy. Soon, the gladiator was free and the winning gladiator got money, a crown, and cheers from the crowd. This gladiator even got a wooden sword which signified his freedom. It was an awesome day filled with fun. When I and Chara left, we went to her house by horseback and then her slave got us some Hors d’oeuvres. That was my tiring day. Aaaa. That was a yawn. I’m going to go to bed now. Goodnight!!!!!

Signed,

        Helena

May 20, 55 B.C.

My Diary

Today was a fine day filled with sunshine and galore. It all started when I wanted to go shopping. Even though, I had slaves I just wanted to go because in Rome there are the most incredible shopping centres in the world. As I appeared I saw ships and wagons arrive carrying different products made from all over the world.  I got so many things. Silks from China and Spices from India. Silver from Spain and Perfumes from Iran. I shopped at the Trojan’s Market near the Forum. It is made from the latest technology. It is an enormous semicircular shopping centre carved out of the side of the hill, with 150 stores, offices and a central open space where traders can set up stands. It was so awesome. As soon as my shopping was done, I went to my friend, Claudia’s house. I showed her everything that I bought and gave her one of the vases that I bought carved out of blue and white glass. She was so happy. I remember exactly what she said. “Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, this is the best thing I’ve ever gotten. THANK YOU SO MUCH,” she shrieked. She loved it so much. After I went home on my horse, Maximus. Now, I’m in bed, in my silk gown, writing. GOOD NIGHT!!!

Signed,

        Helena

May 21, 55 B.C.

My Diary

Today was a special day in all of Rome. It was a day called Agonalia which was created by Numa Pompilius, the semi-legendary second king of Rome. Most people went to the temple today. I did too. We celebrate today in honor of Janus. Janus is the god of beginnings and transitions, and is also the god of gates, doors, passages, endings and time. He is usually described as having two faces, since he looks to the future and to the past. The Romans named the month of January in his honor. Janus is very important on this day. I went to the temple wearing a new orange tunic. It was very pretty. At the temple, I prayed and prayed. I prayed for many things, but that’s a secret. When I came home, I found my slave in my bedroom without my permission. I asked him what he was doing and he didn’t answer. I started yelling at him to tell me. Since he didn’t answer, he ended up getting whipped. After, I checked him thoroughly to make sure he
didn’t take anything. He didn’t. THANK GOSH, Otherwise he would be in serious trouble. Now it’s bedtime. For dinner I had, would meat, vegetable, egg, and fruit. Writing in my diary, Ahh, I love it. It’s so peaceful. Well, got to go to bed. Talk to you later.

Signed,

        Helena

 

 

